Shore-Whitehill Award 2020 Call For Nominations

Photo: 2019 Shore-Whitehill Award Ceremony

(Left to right) Jeffrey Finkelstein, Nancy Gale, Judy Cohen, Lisa Lederer (winner of the 2019 Shore-Whitehill Award), Robert Whitehill, Mara Kaplan.

Call for Nominations for 2020 Shore-Whitehill Award

Nominations are open for the 2020 Shore-Whitehill Award. The Shore-Whitehill Award, created in 1996, is named for Robert Whitehill and the late Barbara Shore and celebrates volunteers who promote inclusion of people with disabilities in the fabric of Jewish life through advocacy or direct service to individuals and families.

Organizations that nominate awardees receive a grant of $1000 to help underwrite the costs of a recognition event and/or inclusion activities. Awardees receive an original sculpture by the late Sylvia Plutchok, a Pittsburgh-based artist. The award is given annually by the Jewish Federation of Greater Pittsburgh and Jewish Residential Services.

Past winners of the Shore-Whitehill Award include: Lisa Lederer, Matthew Keller, Carol L. Tabas, Daniel Leger, Janie Yahr, and Judy Greenwald Cohen.

The deadline for nominations for the 2020 Shore-Whitehill Award is Friday, May 30, 2019. The 2020 nomination form is available electronically at: For more information please contact Jewish Residential Services by email: or phone: 412-325-0039.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *